"Leadership and learning are indispensable to each other."

- John Kennedy


Indian School Sohar successfully inducted the newly selected members of the Students Council during the Investiture Ceremony on 15th May, 2023 to encourage and kindle leadership qualities in the young prodigies. It was a ceremony of great zeal, zest and enthusiasm, when the school entrusted hope, faith and the mantle of responsibility to the newly appointed school cabinet. It signified the reliance and trust that the school entrusts in the newly appointed Council Members.

The event was graced by the benign presence of Ms. Huda Mahmoud Al Balushi, Principal, UM Salama School, Ministry of Education, Al Batinah North Governorate, Principal, Vice-Principal,  Asst. Vice-Principal, members of the selection committee, parents, teachers and students.

The deserving young leaders were bestowed with the responsibility of leading the student community with commitment, confidence and competence. The programme commenced with the Royal Anthem of Oman and the National Anthem of India followed by the soulful rendition 'Count Your Blessings'.

Principal, Mrs. Sanchita Verma extended a formal welcome to the honourable guests. She motivated the students with her precious views which would help them make their vision clear for the achievement of their goal by performing their duties with full dedication. She congratulated the new Council Members and emphasised the significance of setting priorities and the need of the hour to be a team player. She reminded them that they are the torch bearers of all the values that the school stands for and urged them to take responsibility with commitment and integrity.

Aman Saji, the School Captain of the previous session, shared his experience, thanked the President and members of the School Managing Committee, Principal, Vice-Principal, Asst. Vice-Principal, teachers and congratulated his team. The newly appointed House In-charges for the Academic Session 2023-24 were formally introduced. The House In-charges are:

Blue House- Ms. Anam Shaikh and Mr. Sajan John

Green House- Ms. Infenta Christy and Mr. Aftab Alam

Red House- Ms. Deepti Sahani  and Mr. Sudarshan Gupta

Yellow House- Ms. Sheeja Mathew and Mr. C. K. Sunil Kumar

The majestic march of the new Council Members added to the splendour of the event. They were conferred with badges and sashes by the Principal along with the Chief Guest. The happiness of the proud parents knew no bounds when badges and sashes were conferred on the new Council Members. The Principal administered the oath of allegiance to the new Council Members and teachers in charge of the respective houses, who swore to serve the school with utmost sincerity and to the best of their abilities.

            The new office bearers are:

School Captains: Dhruvi Hirenkumar Joshi & Nitinkisor Rajesh Kumar

School Vice-Captains: Anugya Mandal & Arnav Naroth Santhosh

Sports Captains:  Niyati Bhatia & Luvya P Shetty

Sports Vice-Captains: Sanjita Selvakumar & Aryan Tiwari

Cultural Captains:  Srishti Pandey  & Parameswar S Ajeesh

Discipline Captains: Spandana Surepally & Ronan Goveas

Discipline Vice-Captains: Sruthi Harikumar Pillai & Nischal Dhivakar

Literary Coordinator: E Karpaga Varsheni

House Captains (Blue): A.S. Sushanthika & Sajal Kumar Pal

House Vice-Captains (Blue): Jemi Sunil & Jorgy John Sibu

House Captains (Green): Pradipta Sinha  & Mithil Sai

House Vice-Captains (Green):  Gowri Sunitha Sankar & Parth Gupta

House Captains (Red): Maria Joe Joshy & Somya Arora

House Vice-Captains (Red): Aiswarya Saji & Elrick Pereira

House Captains (Yellow): Eshita Singh & Aditya Sajeev

House Vice-Captains (Yellow): Riya Shemeer Fathima & Rehan Ahmed Khan

Discipline Prefects: Jenil H Dekivadia,Taiba, Danish H K, Diya Anil, Rojus Paul, Agnes Liza Emmanuel, Abhinav Jithish, Sanika S S, Abu Ghazi Naserullah, Advika Ray, Mohammed Abrar Anwar, Joveena Susan Joby, Tejus Surepally, Neha Antala, S.Ashwath Raghavan, Nainika Nayak, Rachit Pandya, Nalini Baburaj, Bhaavik Saihbuvis, Avantika Sureshkumar, Abhiman Dewangan, Ashline Rebekah, Levin Shijo Paul, Richa Ajish Mammoottil, Bhavya Jigneshkumar Sojitra, Yashaswini Jain, Aditya Swaroop Asthana and Serena Omar.

The zeal of the council was reflected in their confidence and dedication to execute their work. The ceremony came to a glorious end with the vote of thanks proposed by Dhruvi Hirenkumar Joshi, the School Captain.


For more photos Click here